#4 – The Edit and Reflection on your Vox Pop and Interviews

Reflection on production stage of the Vox Pop

Shooting Vox Pop in the library is more difficult than I thought. It’s quite different from the previous shooting exercises. We have to shoot the enough number of Vox pop, b-rolls and atmos in less than 2 hours. Everything had to be doing softly in the library. As the library is so quite, the noise from the air-conditioner, air vents and the construction site near the library were enlarged. We made a quick decision to move our setting.

After we found someone who is willing to have a quick chat with us, I, as an interviewer, had to place him/her to a proper location to do the Vox Pop. I had to communicate to the cameraman clearly and quickly to discuss whether it is the best place to do the Vox Pop or not. The place the interviewee standing is important for lighting and framing. The cameraman and I worked along quite good after few shootings. It showed that communication with crew member is very important in group work.

During the shooting, I stood near the camera to make the interviewees look natural in front of the camera. Also, I have to stand properly to try to not being on screen as well. In the first Vox Pop shooting, part of the paper in my hand was on the screen, so I have to be more careful next time.

As we have to get the direct answers quickly and try not to disturb interviewees’ time too long, I have to ask the Vox Pop question clearly, and my attitude can’t be too rude as well. My tone should be nice and friendly, so they will talk to me like friends. Fortunately, The interviewees’ performances are very good. They weren’t very nervous in front of the camera, and they were willing to share their advices. However, if the Vox Pop interviewees I face next time are very nervous and shy, I have to ask more open questions to encourage them.

Sometimes I may have to ask questions other than those on the list. For example, two of the interviewees are from France and Japan, so I ask them to compare the RMIT library to the libraries in their home countries.

Reflection on post-production stage of the Vox Pop

Firstly, I renamed the clip as the interviewees’ name and the short form of all those questions, such as ‘Ota – introduction’ and ‘Hanriot – Like’.

After I merged the audios and images together, I discovered that there were some lines on the images. It’s because the light flashing frequency was lower than the frame per second of the camera. It could only be fixed in the production stage so I have to prepare the camera well next time. Also, the lock of the camera was loosened during the first Vox Pop shooting. We do need to check all equipment before we start recording.

I tried to show every single question on the screen. But I thought that I may cut the video too slow with questions.

Question.png

I thought that I don’t have to ‘repeat’ the questions if the questions can be shown in interviewees’ answers.

I also tried to put a lively music at the background, but I also found that it may be a bit ‘annoying’ when I cut the video just right. Music may not be necessary for this Vox Pop video.

During the editing, I found that we don’t have to add music to every single scene. Adding music doesn’t mean the video is ‘complete’.The music and the images really don’t fit very much sometimes.

For next time, I may tried to show the Vox Pop question on the screen as some interviewee may just give me a short answer. I will slow down the transition of every answer, putting more gaps in between. I also found that there were some mistake which can’t be fixed in the post-production stage. Therefore, I have to do my best in the production stage, I can’t rely on the post-production stage to fix all mistakes I made before.

 

Reflection on production stage of the interview

Lighting is extremely important in this exercise. After I prepared the interview answer, I was observing the setting of group 4 as a reference. The key light, backlight and set light have to be prepared well based on different talents and locations we are shooting and the directions they’re facing.

However, the location we shot wasn’t very nice. The light always turned off automatically on that day. The sudden turn off of light affect our performance. We tired to turn off all room lights to see how it’s going but it was too wired for people to talk about their homes in that situation.

We did a slightly adjustment on the lighting and the place talents sitting because their position may block some other. We had to make sure everyone was ready in front of the camera.

During the shooting, we also had to do the framing and focusing quickly during the shooting to record down other talents’ listening faces and reactions to the discussion. It’s because those listening scenes are good footages for transitional purpose. I will focus on people’s hand next time because it’s a good way to show talents’ emotions.

Reflection on post-production stage of the interview

I chose to edit other group’s work because the room lights weren’t working very good on the interview day.

Firstly, I named different bin to organize different footages well and then cut out all talents’ listening scene. This action saved my time for find usable footages to do transition in the following edit process.

Organized files.png

I edited and speeded up the clips of discussion, then add a slow music to put viewers into their memories as well. The question ‘What is your earliest memory’ tell viewers the topic directly.

To hide someone walking pass in front of the camera and the reframe and refocus, I edited some cutaway shots. Also, the cutaway shot can make the image be less ‘boring’. However, the images of talents’ listening faces and reactions weren’t not enough. I used some other images instead but the result wasn’t very good.

Editing group discussion is pretty hard. Lacking usable images was the main reason. Learning from the previous experience, I found that organize footages before edit really help and save time. I should turn it into an edit habit. Next time, I may add the interviewers voice to show the question instead of putting words on screen. Showing talents’ reactions right after they heard the question will be interesting.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

